Professor Amr M. Baz





UMD    This Site


NTC Director, Dr. Lei Zhang

NTC Director, Dr. Lei Zhang


The U.S. Department of State nominated Dr. Lei Zhang (Associate Professor, CEE, Engineering), Director of the National Transportation Center@Maryland, as the candidate from the U.S. for the 2014 APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE Prize), in recognition of his commitment to excellence in scientific research in Intelligent Transportation and Sustainable Development. The APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) ASPIRE Prize is an annual award which recognizes one young scientist among all APEC countries who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies. Each of the 21 APEC member economies submits one nominee under the age of 40 for the ASPIRE Prize, and one grand prize winner will be selected and awarded in Fall 2014. In nominating Dr. Zhang as the U.S. candidate, the Office of Science and Technology Cooperation of the State Department highlighted his following contributions in the announcement, "[his] spirit of cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies embodies the cross-border collaboration that is vital to advancing future discoveries that will, in turn, drive our economies and foster intelligent transportation development.  It is the pioneering work of young scientists like him that is leading the translation of research into tangible benefits, helping to address some of our [Asia-Pacific] region’s most difficult shared challenges."

July 14, 2014

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

Maryland Engineering: Top 10 Among Public Graduate Programs, Six Years Running

Roadside Soil Amendments: Finding the Right Mix

EVs and Equity: Closing the Gap

UMD Roundtable Weighs Lessons Learned From Key Bridge Collapse

Conduit Study Wins Capstone Expo Award

Key Bridge: What Comes Next?

Students with Entrepreneurial Curiosity: Launch Your Business Idea at Maryland

Engineering Students Fabricate Tomorrow’s Solutions Today

Abdolmajid Erfani, UMD Team Win ASCE's Wellington Prize

Improving Access to Electric Vehicles Through Crowdfunding




©2010  |  University of Maryland

UMD Home Clark School Home Home